Slimmah Sound – Crucial Roots and Dub

Time to spotlight some crucial vibes. Amsterdam based top notch producer Slimmah Sound just released his first showcase album ” Love Jah More”. Recorded as a classic vocal and dub album this release features a group of artists like Jah Melodie, Lyrical Benjie, Zed I, Dan I, Kyle Sicarius and Joakim. Definitely worth to mention is the format namely vinyl or CD. People who have visited Slimmah’s dances might recognize the catchy tunes which are also played by King Shiloh over and over. So if you wonder what tunes might have stuck in your ear then you probably find it on one of Slimmah’s releases.

Slimmah releases tunes on his labels Roots Tribe Records and Bush and Shadow Records next to some tunes published on Deep Root (Abassi High Power) and KS Majestic Music (King Shiloh). The catalogue contains some fine 7 and 12 inch records so far which are completed by an official bootleg CD  containing a collection of Jah Melodie and Slimmah Sound releases.

No recommendations here because the tunes are all on a very high production and performing level. So it’s more a question of one’s own preferences.  For people who are into dub most releases should  not be missing in a collection. Since most Slimmah tunes are pressed on vinyl, which is limited, you should get yourself a copy and touch down the needle. Don’t forget to season it with some extra bass.

The tracklisting of the upcoming release “Love Jah More” (link to audio snippet):

01 Jah Melodie – Love Jah More
02 Love Jah Dub
03 Dan I – Crisis
04 Dub Crisis
05 Joakim – Rootsman Melody
06 Rootsman Dub

01 Kyle Sicarius – Jah Is My Light
02 Enlighted Dub
03 Zed I – Jah Made The Herb
04 Dub the Herb
05 Lyrical Benjie – Girl Don’t Trust The World (Extended Mix)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s